On hiatus

onhiatus

You may be pleased to know that I have my mojo back. It was on hiatus, enjoying some sun, surf and sand and left me high and dry. While my tolerance levels remain somewhat low, I’m at least functioning and have even returned to that thing referred to as ‘exercise’.  Baby steps though – I am certainly not running up the mountain with the Pain Master yet, but I can at least get up and back without stopping.  Progress.

A while a go I took my Garmin for a little swim, needless to say – it died.  Looking back it really did drive me a little bonkers. I have a slightly competitive streak, mostly with myself, and I found every time I exercised I was desperately trying to burn a minimum of 1000 calories.  This is a little crazy, particularly unsustainable 7 days a week. So, recently I have purchased a new FitBit Charge.  I’ll be honest, it’s not as good as my Garmin, but it does count steps, records my sleep (or lack thereof) and tracks weight-loss (or not).  It has an Apple app – always a bonus and sends nifty little reports on weekly progress.  If Garmin can start to measure my sleep and track my weight loss though, I’m in like Flynn.

I was discussing a cleansing-detox thing today with some friends.  I looked it up and, if I was single with no children, I’d probably have a crack.  30 days of shakes and 600 calories of food.  No wonder people lose weight doing it.  But, no matter how much I complain (and, I can complain A LOT), I just can’t do the shake thing. The Hashi situation with the (now-not-so) small blue human and I, has me determined to be a really good role model for him and his sister (though bless her – she got her fathers metabolism).  I have to be able to show them that life is about balance and moderation when it comes to what we put in our mouths and exercise.  Now, for me that means I’m never going to be a size 0 – lets be honest, I’m never going to be a size 8, but I will eventually end up somewhere I’m satisfied I can live happily.  I can’t base my happiness on the tag on my dress.

Right-o, what else is happening? I’ve just submitted the first of this years uni assignments. I think there is light at the end of the tunnel, though I’m now questioning why I’m even bothering – it absorbs so much of my life, and usually impacts all the fun stuff.  My hat goes off to academics, I honestly don’t know how they do it.

Keen to get some sleep before midnight.  I’m leaving my run a little late, but never-the-less, I can give it a shot.  Sorry about the utterly random post – but thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

