It’s okay, I can actually exist without coffee

https://i2.wp.com/avalonessenceswellness.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/herbaltea.jpg

 

Phew, who’d have thought? I am emerging through the fog and headaches. Yes, the headaches were a bitch. I’m not going to sugar coat it for you. If you’re considering quitting sugar or coffee (I’ve now done both) it hurts. It hurts a lot. Your muscles ache as if you have the flu. Your head pounds like a serious spirit hangover (of the rough night on vodka variety). You’re insanely tired, and you’re grumpy.
I think the grumpy factor comes from the fact that life has to go on, regardless of the daily ritual you’re missing out on. The days drag. I’ve worked out I would often use my 9:30 or 11:00am coffee as an opportunity to gather my thoughts at work – process what I’d just been reading, or the phone conversation I’d just had. Now – there’s no escape. And the weekends are hard – my Saturday coffee ritual – pink princess at ballet, me with my coffee, a newspaper and an hour of nothing….are now going to have to be filled with…I don’t know what. Green juice?

However – I feel better. Honestly.

And so I don’t feel like a complete social outcast, I’m now becoming a connoisseur of herbal uncaffeinated tea. Surprisingly, some of them are really quite good.

I only miss bread and cheese when I’m feeling lazy, and I managed to eat out at a restaurant during the week. So I’m juggling the whole Paleo Pete thing remarkably well given the lack of coffee situation. I’m guessing being responsible for a couple of small humans means you have to just get on with it.

On the weight loss front – the scales are heading in the right direction, I’m keen to see if this continues – will definitely keep you posted.

Strangely, I’ve become acutely aware of how much money I was spending each day/each week. It’s like encouraging someone to give up smoking (thank god that isn’t an issue!) and suggesting all the things they can save their money for.  I’m thinking island getaway.

This week’s goal: exercise. The Pain Master is on board, so there’s no turning back.

Leave a Reply

