I’m back! Please, feel free to join me.

Oh hello there, I’m procrastinating, glad you could drop on by.

I’m procrastinating writing uni essays, even though there is now light at the end of the tunnel. All things going according to plan, and I’ll be donning a mortar board and cape this time next year at winter graduation. Thank god. So, once I finish this post, I’ll be getting back into reading all about Spanish colonisation of Latin America and the Caribbean…after I hang out the washing and pack the dishwasher…

Other than procrastination, what else motivated me to log back in and write? I’ve just returned from a weeks R&R with the husband. We kicked back and lazed around in the tropics – no work, no kids – just on our lonesome (except a fun family wedding on the weekend). It was tough, fine food and fabulous cocktails in 28 degree heat – a world away from the reality of the minus winter temperatures of home. I’m relaxed, recharged and re-energized. I’m even focused on why I initially started this blog thing, to chase down some numbers.

During my hiatus and neglect of my blog, I’ve spent some time soul searching. Of course I want to relinquish the kilo’s and drop a few sizes (let’s be honest, most people I know rapidly approaching the big 4-0 are also keen to do so), but I’ve found a new peace in my life. I just re-read that sentence; it reads as though I’ve seen the light…nooo.

It took my family GP to sit me down and tell me not to be a perfectionist (who, me?). Perfectionism apparently requires too much energy and is somewhat unattainable. He has proposed I pursue ‘mastery’. This will allow me to make, and learn from, mistakes and still be happy. I listened intently and I’ve considered his words of wisdom. He has suggested that I look after myself, exercise is important, but not to beat myself up if I don’t get in the one hour or so I believe I need (otherwise it’s not worth it – in my head). He suggested I watch Dr Mike Evans’ 23 and 1/2 hours as a starting point to getting back on the exercise bandwagon. It was interesting and thought provoking.

I’m also starting my relationship with Paleo Pete again. This time however, I have managed to find his pre-packaged Paleo Pete meals – a godsend! This means I can take delicious, healthy and filling lunches to work, and I have something in the freezer for those nights the husband and I don’t feel like cooking – I won’t be tempted with take-out. This suits my crazy lifestyle better than pretending I can do it all, when time and again I have proven I really can’t.

So, what does all this mean? What numbers am I chasing? Well…
I’m going to see if I can drop 8 kilo’s in 10 weeks – if I can, I’ll do another 10 weeks
I would like to drop a few dress sizes
I’m committing to 30 minutes of good exercise every single day – an hour if I can
I’m committing to 8 hours sleep a night
I’m going to drink 2 litres of water a day
These are the numbers I’ll be chasing for the next 10 weeks. Now that I’ve been specific, and made some sort of public declaration, maybe I’ll hold myself a little more accountable.

I’ll keep you posted.

IMG_1626

 

Leave a Reply

